My First Article

My First Article

My unreal journey #1 || Stepping out of tutorial hell for the first time || Applying for my first team project || My first skill test

Hello folks,

I am Utsav Agarwal pursuing B.Tech (CSE) and also learning game development from Unreal Engine. I am trying to learn game development for a long time, but this journey is not as simple as people think it to be.

The journey is not that difficult but complex because of the resources present today. Today it is quite common that people to say that learning anything is so easy today, just open Google or youtube and start learning, or else there are so many ed-tech platforms today. But due to this infinite amount of resources, it becomes so complex for geeks to learn new skills. Because when a beginner starts learning something, they first search for free resources but they don't know which is a good choice for them. Then they try different resources and spend months and sometimes more than a year just finding the right path for them.

But the problems don't end here, most of these geeks are students. These students face a lot of unseen pressure such as scoring well in exams, and 3-4 years of college time limit to make them ready for the placements, explaining to parents the scope of game development (big trouble in India). But the biggest problem faced by these students is their mates because when their mates are scoring well or achieving something in their fields, and they are stuck watching tutorials, trying to figure their way out, it demotivates them.

At that time they feel like people are judging them for everything they are doing and they feel fear of making any mistakes, and a time comes when they feel fear of attempting new things. At that time they want to learn everything before doing something, and that's when they got stuck in the tutorial hell.

I am one of these geeks, stuck in tutorial hell for the last two years. But this time I have decided to do my best to break out of the fear to try something (writing this article is also a part of it because I always fear sharing my thoughts socially).

For the last two months, I was doing an Unreal Engine course on Udemy and this time I was a bit confident with what I learned, so to practice it I decided to work on team projects so that I can practice my skills without being worried about stories, assets and designer stuff. This time I didn't think about it much, I just asked out in different servers if anyone needs a team member. I got many replies, many teams didn't accept me for my less experience, but I keep on looking for more, and finally, I guess I found a team that is compatible with me.

Yesterday they interviewed me and initiated my skill test. They gave me some requirements to create a sample game project in 60 hours. I don't know whether I will be able to pass the skill test or not, but I am thankful that they gave me that test because while working on the project I realised that I have acquired some knowledge, and I got confident about creating a project of my own.

I named the project "Wishing Well", I will soon be uploading updates about it, so stay tuned and please give me feedback about my article, so that I can improve in future.

You can also connect to me through GitHub, LinkedIn and Twitter.